59 Scottish 200

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 59 Scottish 200

As you are no doubt aware I’m new to Greeves but not to bikes I’ve been riding since I was a kid, grown up with bikes with my dad riding bonnevilles T120 and 140’s through to him having zzr 1100’s.
    my older brother still has my dads last T140 and I’ve owned over 60 bikes and have ridden since I was young 7 or 8 years old.
    i have always had a thing about Greeves primarily 500 triumph engined scramblers
    i used to also green lane a lot on a drz400e incl regularly doing the strada florida.
    ive now been persuaded to start pre 65 trials hence the Greeves. My mates belong to the tavernerers and that’s who I’ll ride with.
    i also have a thing about strokers and still own a very special Yamaha rd350lc. I’m 54 years old and live south Leicestershire.
    so onto the bike. I’d looked at several Greeves nothing hit the spot then I drove with a trailer 5 hours away to view what I bought. I’d been delayed on the journey and was just at the point I wanted a bloody bike. Therefore my normal reticence on just diving straight in went out of the window.
    this is what I bought pretty much without looking properly.

once I returned home I realised I’d made a mistake in my haste. 20 inch front wheel with a 6 inch hub lots of the nuts and bolts are metric and I’d not ridden it
    Attached Files

So I set about working on it. First thing was buying a correct wheel so I eventually found a 21inch front wheel. Unfortunately for me I didn’t realise the spindle was bent. So I fitted it with new bolts spacers etc into a front end that still had metric bolts and it didn’t fit
    here you can see the problem
    Attached Files

Comment

So I spoke to Gary who I have to say has been brilliant bought new spindle etc and another wheel this time a 21in with the cooling hub. Having swapped everything over fitted all new wheel fittings new shoes etc this is the result