Leading link vs Ceriani on Anglian

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leading link vs Ceriani on Anglian

I'm in the process of getting my 1968 Anglian back in riding condition. It has had it's share of modifications over the years. It has a Ceriani fork on it, but I have been told my frame number indicates it came with a leading link fork. I would like to put a correct leading link fork on it. How do I identify the correct fork? Would a fork from a 1963 24MDS be correct? Thanks for any tips for a beginning Greeves owner. Hal

Hal,

I don't know your frame number but the early Anglians had banana forks, not the MDS-type leading links. There are various theories about fitting tele forks to Anglians, types of fork yoke, etc. but I am not an expert in this area.

If you give me your frame number, I should be able to tell you what it was fitted with when new.

Rob

PS - there are some old magazine articles about giving the low-down on the Anglian. Possibly I should scan them and make them available.

Comment

Mine is a 24TJSD. Even if the leading links have less performance, I would still prefer to have them on if that is what the bike was delivered with. Hal

Comment

Originally posted by Rock Hill Farm View Post
        Mine is a 24TJSD. Even if the leading links have less performance, I would still prefer to have them on if that is what the bike was delivered with. Hal
        Have no fear, a banana-fork Anglian handles beautifully. It has been said (comments anyone?) that fitting Cerianis was more a nod to fashion than a real advance.
        Colin Sparrow

Comment

Anglian Forks