Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member First Post

Hi all GRA members

Have been a member for a about a year, this is my first attempt at a post, so be gentle, if I mess it up.

I have, what I believe to be, a largely complete, un-restored 1961 MCS. Frame number 61/3832 c/w 34A serial No 305D/1972.
    Missing the Ally tank, has Hawkstone satin chrome instead, numerous nuts and bolts, the rear brake rod (though I have the rear brake pedal assembly) and side stand are also missing.
    I have an exhaust but its not original and includes my teenager metalwork project, expansion chamber...
    The handle bars came with the bike, are extra wide and also clearly not original.

I have had the bike since about 1976, (it came from Derbyshire via my late grandfather) and was used as a field bike in the South East, for a couple of years.
    Family moved to the North East and bike was stored, until about 8 years ago when a friend ask if he could restore it.
    Long story short, the restoration never happened and what remained of the bike has now finally been returned to me.

What you see (if the photos upload) is a quick reassembly of the various boxes to see what remains and whats missing.

The plan is a full restoration, the bike is a year older than myself, with many teenage memories, so worth the investment of time and money to me

I suspect this will be a long process, but I'm in for the long haul!

Thanks for looking

Attached Files

Welcome to the forum. A nice complete machine. You are lucky that the distinct air box is complete. Are you restoring it to ride ? Tank should be repairable. Mudguards, and other cycle parts are available from British Bikes 1970. They have a good website. Good luck in your quest.

Comment

Originally posted by Phil Hyde View Post