New Boy (haha) Motorcyclist Colin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Boy (haha) Motorcyclist Colin

Hi Everyone. May I introduce myself. I've been riding motorbikes for the last 69 years (not continuously you understand, I have stopped from time to time!) . I'm happy to have joined the GRA.My 4th Motorbike Club alongside the VOC, the VMCC, and The Airhead Fellowship .Just bought my second only Greeves. (first one was a 197 Scottish about 40 odd years ago) a superbly restored East Coaster. Now sharing my workshop with 4 Vincents, 2 Airhead BMWs, an Ambassador Popular( exactly the same model as my first bike in 1952), and a Cyclemaster (32ccs of roaring power). I'd wanted a Villiers 250 two stroke twin for some time, either a Norman Sports Twin (I am a Man of Kent) or a Greeves, and the East Coaster came along first, and an excellent bike it is. I'd just sold my Yamaha DT250 Enduro for a good price so the East Coaster appeared at the right time. All my bikes sharing the space with my wife's Peugeot Tweet Scooter and her Triumph T10 twist-and-go..You probably won't be surprised to hear that our Camper was modified to carry a bike in the back, as at 85 I much prefer the comfort of our second home (camper) to a tent, when going to rallies. Sorry, yes I know we're getting soft, but there is still plenty of riding when we are at a rally etc, especially as we belong to the French Section of the Vincent Owners Club. Living in East Kent, it's our nearest Sect.. Only yesterday we had our first ride on the new East Coaster, and it is very noticeable how much lighter and lower it is than the Vins and BMs. Chances are it will get used quite a bit. .I love the big 1000s but they do get heavier every time I need to move them around.. We very much look forward to getting involved with the GRA. and I have a feeling I shall be asking a lot of questions about my new bike and Greeves in general. Thanks for reading these ramblings!