New member from Essex

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member from Essex

hi all always fancied a Greeves as I'm an Essex boy, just bought a frame to start my project so a long way to go, I have a complete fanned front hub and as I'm a wheel builder that means a nice front wheel coming up, will be asking a few questions along the way but hoping the frame is 1963 my birth year and fingers crossed it's a scottish as this is what I like, hopefully can add a picture if anybody can help identify it.
    chris

Won't let me upload attachment

Comment

Frame number 63/3127

Comment

Welcome aboard Wills wheels, the frame number you have quoted is a 'fake', Greeves never used the 63/**** series as they went onto model related numbers ie 24TES*** from 1962 onward.

This frame was recently on eBay, and is referred to in this thread https://www.greeves-riders.org.uk/fo...e-frame-number
        Presumably you did not see that as it was in members area.

So here it is again https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/163549559927?ul_noapp=true
        MEMBERS BEWARE this frame number has a fake number, 63/3127 as most of you will know after 1963 Greeves used the model type as a prefix to number, the last of the old series with year first was 1961 (61/****)
        This frame was on John Harding's stand at Telford last weekend (asking price was £250).BUT NOT OWNED BY JOHN, who was selling it for the current eBay seller in Bromsgrove. It was not sold at Telford resulting in the owner listing it on ebay as an un molested frame. His eBay name rustynscrap says it all
        Apparently its from a SCS.

I would suggest you contact the seller and ask for a refund, he was to my knowledge made aware of incorrect frame number.
        Last edited by John Wakefield; 12/03/2019, 02:14 PM.

Comment

Oh no that's not good news, will look into what to do From here

Comment