Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Andrew & new from Johns Island, South Carolina

Hi,

I have a Greeves Griffon made 10/3/72 on frame #61 NC 274 with Engine #PGPE 4161 & Gearbox #GBA 1642. I have jammed the clutch and whilst I wait for a new unit to come from Greeves UK, I'd like to ask about the removal of the gear spindle. When I bought the bike the gear lever was welded to the gear spindle, a problem which I never addressed. Now, with the clutch issue I've also ordered the two new parts required so I can repair the gear change bit. As I am not very technical I have a local pal who is(?) to help me but he has never worked on a Greeves! So, even before we start to replace the clutch, to fix the gear bit can we simply pull the out the old spindle and re-insert the new one? Thanks.

Andrew

Originally posted by Andrew McNeice View Post
    Hi,

I have a Greeves Griffon made 10/3/72 on frame #61 NC 274 with Engine #PGPE 4161 & Gearbox #GBA 1642. I have jammed the clutch and whilst I wait for a new unit to come from Greeves UK, I'd like to ask about the removal of the gear spindle. When I bought the bike the gear lever was welded to the gear spindle, a problem which I never addressed. Now, with the clutch issue I've also ordered the two new parts required so I can repair the gear change bit. As I am not very technical I have a local pal who is(?) to help me but he has never worked on a Greeves! So, even before we start to replace the clutch, to fix the gear bit can we simply pull the out the old spindle and re-insert the new one? Thanks.

Andrew
    Welcome Andrew,

The model you have is a Griffon Enduro, which came with lights and a few other gadgets for competing in Enduros.

Here's the deal on your shift shaft. Basically you'll have to strip the box down to do it right. The spline shaft is welded on to the mechanism that works the shift plate up and down.