Swing arm to frame spacer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swing arm to frame spacer?

Hi, I'm a newbie in the Greeves world and building myself a bike for the lanes. I have a 24TE which has stood for a decade or since being used as a "farm bike" . My question is, should there be any spacers between the swing arm and the frame? I take it the rubber bushes revolve around the spindle and the shaft stays still,..thereby wearing the frame!?? Any help would be appreciated.

No. the bushes are clamped so that the movement is within the rubber, if its moving on the spindle then bolt is not tight enough. What is the frame No of your TE? A drawing showing the spacers can be had from Gary Bamford GRA Drawings Officer garygmm@live.co.uk you need to be a paid up GRA member.
    Last edited by John Wakefield; 21/02/2023, 11:03 AM.

Comment

Hi, thanks for your help that explains a lot. The frame is numbered 291.
      I thought I had sort of joined, I thought I had paid a small fee to cover from January and was going to be a member when the new membership started? I also have an old Silverstone frame that I would like to use on the road with a Triumph 350 motor in.
      Thanks again for your help I will try to sort out my membership.

Comment

Thanks for frame number which I have on Survivors list with an owner 'Clive' in Devon presumably yourself. Check with Membership Sec Andy Barnett subs@greeves-riders.org.uk if you are a member he will upgrade you on here to a full member so you can access the Members Area. What is the frame number of Silverstone frame?

Comment

Rusty546 I have sent you a private message
          --
          Membership Secretary

Comment