Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Head Gasket for Villiers engine?

Hi.

I have a Greeves Hawkstone and was wondering if the Villier's engine should have a head gasket as it does not have one.

If it is the iron barrell definitely yes, not sure about alloy barrell but I would think they should also have one. Plain copper or aluminium
    Last edited by John Wakefield; 02/01/2011, 05:32 AM.

Comment

Head Gaskets.

Hi, as a Trained M/Cycle mechanic, I hae always taken the view that, if a manufacturer had gone to all the trouble of fitting something, after research,then it should be there. The best case in point would be the K & N Air Filters in the 1970/80's. Many owners of Japanese 4 Cylinder 'bikes fitted these, then came into our workshop complaining of poor running, etc.,
      On the Villiers engine, the differential in coefficient of expansion between the Cylinder head (Alloy) and Barrel, (Iron) means that you need a flexible seal. Even the later Alloy top ends, unless spray linered needs such as the austenitic iron liner will expand at a different rate to the alloy.
      I've come across engines where, in order to raise compression, the joint was made with red hermatite, but I always thought this a bodge.
      The first of the 3 & 4 cylinder BMW's of the 80's were assembled without gaskets, but many began to suffer warping and weepage of oil, so some gaskets were retro-fitted.

No, in my opinion, fit a gasket. The copper ones are re-usable with care, so are well worth their existance.

Comment

Originally posted by Peter Rotherham View Post
        The best case in point would be the K & N Air Filters in the 1970/80's. Many owners of Japanese 4 Cylinder 'bikes fitted these, then came into our workshop complaining of poor running, etc....

I've come across engines where, in order to raise compression, the joint was made with red hermatite, but I always thought this a bodge.
        Yes, airboxes are there for a reason...