HGV Speed limits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HGV Speed limits

As from today, if you ride a small or older bike expect to see your mirrors full of big lorry

Dogsbody

Hi db, as an ex hgv driver, i can tell you...you might see one in your mirrors, but i can assure you, with current eu & uk training regs, these guys are subject to far more stringent, training programs & road awareness than the average person in front of them on the road.....give the guys a break....look around your home...its all brought in by trucks....

Comment

This brings them into line with van speed limits. You wouldn't know it from everyday observation, but "non car-derived" vans - Transit-type vehicles - are limited to 50 on single carriageways, 60 on dual and 70 on motorways.

Have to say that, on dual carriageways I prefer to cruise my Tranny nearer seventy simply so as to not obstruct the traffic flow.

Heavies overtaking on two-lane dual carriageways really are a nuisance - if only the overtaken drivers would lift off for couple of seconds and give the overtaking optimist the chance to pull back in a bit sooner.

I don't suppose this change will make a great deal of difference - HGVs are mostly governed to 56mph anyway - aren't they?
      Colin Sparrow

Comment

It will make a considerable difference, as increasing the permitted speed up to 50mph on s/carrageways, will help stop the build up of traffic behind the hgv`s.
        This is when an accident is most likely to happen, when impatient motorists, try to overtake in limited time & space!.....

Comment