Greeves Riders Association Forums   Greeves Riders Association Forums Not signed up? Send an email to contact@greeves-riders.org.uk requesting access.
Find out more about GRA membership and how to join here.
   

Go Back   Greeves Riders Association Forums > Engines, cycle parts and spares > Greeves engines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11/05/2017, 09:51 PM
MarkM's Avatar
MarkM MarkM is offline
GRA Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Long Compton (Warks)
Posts: 119
Default 9e grearbox on 32a barrel

A bike I have appears to have 3 gears which is odd as it is a 250 32a barrel (the 32a should be four speed). Is it possible that a 32a barrel could have been put onto a 3 speed 9e gearbox .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12/05/2017, 07:47 AM
John Wakefield's Avatar
John Wakefield John Wakefield is online now
GRA Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire UK
Posts: 5,564
Default

The 3 speed box will fit on a 32A crank case as fixings same as 4 speed. As far as I am aware Villiers only fitted the 3 speed to the 9E for road bike use, James, Francis Barnett etc it was never an option on the Greeves either trials or road bikes.
So you need to find a 4 speed box preferably one with wide (trials ratios). Easy enough to fit after you have dismantled primary drive. Not sure if you will need a different clutch for 4 speed box.
Looking at the eBay pics of your bike it has the 32A barrel so looks like 32A crankcases. The 31A was 1/4 inch shorter on the flange because the 9E has a shorter con rod, yours has the thick flange. Porting is the same on 31A & 32A

Last edited by John Wakefield; 12/05/2017 at 07:55 AM. Reason: amended wording after looking at eBay pics
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12/05/2017, 08:09 AM
IanCordes IanCordes is offline
GRA Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bodmin, Cornwall
Posts: 365
Default

John. It has already been determined in Mark's original post when he purchased the bike that it is a 32A; assuming it is the same bike, Mark? It seems that the PO either built up an engine from parts which he had available, hence the 3-speed 'box, or he wanted the 32A 4-speed gearbox for another bike, so swapped over with a 3-speeder; which can be bought as cheap as chips because nobody wants them; before selling it. A bit naughty, but he has got away with it. Presumably the vendor did not say it was a 3-speed, Mark?

As John has said, you need to source a 4-speed 'box, and swap them. Easy enough, but the 4-speed boxes fetch a premium price over the 3-speed one.



Edit - my post and your edit crossed in the ether John!

Last edited by IanCordes; 12/05/2017 at 08:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12/05/2017, 03:24 PM
IanCordes IanCordes is offline
GRA Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bodmin, Cornwall
Posts: 365
Default

Mark. Having looked at the ebay pictures of your bike, I am not convinced it has a 3-speed gearbox. The end covers are different, and, although yours is covered in cr#p, it looks to be a later 4 speed gearbox, with the improved change mechanism. If you can post up a clear picture of your (cleaned) gearbox end cover, that should help to identify it. It may be you have an issue with the gearbox which is only allowing selection of 3 gears. Have you ridden it? What are the spacings like between each gear? If it is not selecting one, it would help to identify which. Ian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12/05/2017, 04:23 PM
John Wakefield's Avatar
John Wakefield John Wakefield is online now
GRA Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire UK
Posts: 5,564
Default

This is a pic of a 3 speed 9E gearbox outer casing with the one on your bike. Yours looks like the 4 speed box
Selection should be one up three down with neutral between 1st & 2nd
Attached Thumbnails
s-l1600.jpg   s-l1600 (1).jpg  

Last edited by John Wakefield; 12/05/2017 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12/05/2017, 06:15 PM
MarkM's Avatar
MarkM MarkM is offline
GRA Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Long Compton (Warks)
Posts: 119
Default

Apologies, Ive been a bit of a duller. It is the same bike Ian, I had previously only managed to ride it to the end of the drive and found I could only select three gears.
After reading all the comments I decided to take it down a nearby farm track. I managed to select all 4 gears. I think that I just didn't have enough 'greeves riding experience'. The first gear is very low with the second and third quite close together and the fourth quite a high gear. Combined with the very short stubby gearchange I think that I must have just slipped straight through second and third. I think I just need more practice!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12/05/2017, 07:48 PM
IanCordes IanCordes is offline
GRA Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bodmin, Cornwall
Posts: 365
Default

You have a result there then, Mark! No expensive trials gearbox to buy, which, from your description, is what you have. A nice little bike which should serve you well, once you get used to it and fettle it. Ian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.