TE Lighting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TE Lighting

I'd like to get some lights on the bike but I'm a complete novice with electrics. The bike has a socket in place (32a engine) but I don't know if the lighting coils work. Is it a simple job wiring up some lights and if so are there any plans/diagrams out there/available I could use (ive looked in all my handbooks and workshop guides but none show the lighting wiring configuration). Failing that can anyone recommend someone whizz who could sort them out for me (at a price of course)

9E & 32A lighting

This has been covered before in this thread http://greeves-riders.org.uk/forums/...iring+diagrams
    Large pin is main output to lights & small pin to rectifier and battery if fitted.
    Hopefully you still have the lighting coils fitted (they were often removed by serious trials riders), a simple check with a meter will confirm. Note both pins a positive, earth is via frame & engine casing. Simple.

Comment

Thanks John, I don't feel confident doing this myself though. Can you recommend anyone??

Comment

No I dont know anyone in Warwickhire, (I live near Cambridge, Cambs) but I would have thought any competent auto electrician could wire it for you. The lights on the trials bike were supplied as a set with wiring and the plug to go into crank case socket. Obviously these are rare these days but a modern set could be made up using the diagram.

Comment

Usual advice about earthing components......Make sure everything is earthed back to a good point that can be reached and cleaned when required. DO NOT rely on earthing via the head bearings, but run a thick wire from the front lights to the battery area or a chosen earthing point. Scrap old cylindrical fuses and use modern blade ones in a waterproof holder.

Comment

Lighting

The lighting isn’t hard to do , I’ve fitted lights to my Greeves,which has a 225cc Villiers Ih engine with similar wiring output to your bike.